Posted on

My favorite R&B group of the 90′s is back!!! SWV, I missed thee!

Now I know how my mom feels when she hears Earth, Wind And Fire is coming to town.  Nothing like hearing the songs you jammed to back in the day, to be performed live with the artists right in front of you to bask in their energy.  If there is one group from my childhood that I was a true stan for, it would be the ladies of Sisters With Voices, better known as SWV.  As much as their hit tracks like, “Weak” and “Human Nature” are still in heavy rotation on radio stations, it’s crazy to think they were only in the music scene for a solid five years in the 90′s before fading into the background.  Now 15 years since the last time they released a studio album, they are back and stole my heart once again as a grown woman in my late 20′s as they did when I was a budding pubescent pre-teen more than a decade and a half ago.

I’m a sucker for all things old school, as when I was an on-air radio personality at my university radio station, I probably played at least one SWV song once a week on my late-night R&B formatted show.  It’s something about the music of the 80′s and 90′s…the beats and lyrics were so much more romantic rather than sexual like what we hear today.  So when I learned of their album listening party being held the day after I returned from Korea, I knew it was a blessing reserved for me.  I was skeptical as to what the new album would sound like, but they proved me right.  I was classic SWV.  They didn’t try to get 2012 on us with the auto-tunes and collabos with 2 Chainz and all that.  They featured two upcoming artists, but that was it.  STRAIGHT R&B.  And as they said at the listening party, “We are almost in our 40′s and that’s what we are representing.”  Can’t be mad at that.

So as if attending the listening party and interviewing the ladies wasn’t enough last month, I got to see them perform live at the famous Sounds of Brazil (SOB’s) located in Manhattan’s SoHo neighborhood on Tuesday for KISS-FM’s R&B Side concert series.  It was a full room, and I almost got jumped a few times from some aggressive female fans as I squeezed my way to the front to get a good view of the songstresses on stage for photos.  They performed a short but sweet 45 minute set, with songs from their latest album, I Missed Us, which came out that same day.  Their performance included singles from the new album, including “All About You,” “Co-Sign” (their debut single) and a rendition of Patti Labelle’s “If Only You Knew.”  They even did a little two-step choreography for the fans.  Hosted by NYC radio legend Ed Lover (who looks more like age 30 than 50 #blackdontcrack) and sounds provided by DJ Qua, I may have been considered one of the “babies” in the audience because of my age, but I respect and appreciate good music, no matter how long it takes to return. Welcome back SWV!

Another day back n Brooklyn…

Check out my photo gallery below from the show at SOB’s and click on the link to read my interview with the trio for Parlour Magazine.

Leave a Reply

